Stahly Quality Foods have been supplying award winning haggis around
world since 1994. The Stahly family name has been associated with quality food since 1923 when Fred
Stahly, Snr and his wife, Elizabeth, first opened a butcher shop in Kirkcaldy High
Street in Fife.
Their son, Fred jnr and his wife, Ann, took over the shop in 1968. F. Stahly & Son
was quickly recognised, not only in Fife, but around Scotland as a premier Scottish
food producer. Fred jnr won the British National Meat Master title in 1984 and went
on to win the European Gold Cup for their famous black pudding. Grandson, Ken
Stahly joined the family business in 1975, later taking over the running of the factory
where he developed the unique concept of producing tinned haggis in a skin. The
tinned haggis was launched at the Royal Highland Show, Ingliston, Edinburgh in
1992. HRH Princess Anne did a tour of the food hall and visited the Stahly stand,
where she tasted the new products and gave them her Royal seal of approval. Ken
recognised great potential for this unique new product and Stahly Quality Foods was
launched in April 1994 with three varieties of canned haggis.
Thanks to three generations of the Stahly family, Scotland’s national dish can now be
enjoyed around the world. Today, Stahly Quality Foods Ltd. is a rapidly expanding business, having recently
moved to brand new, purpose-built premises in Glenrothes, Fife.